Hon. Joseph Hamilton, M.P

Minister of Labour.

Minister Hamilton’s primary objective is to expand and to create mechanism to deliver Technical and Vocational Education and Training through the Board of Industrial Training (BIT) to each region of Guyana.

Minister Hamilton, also hold the responsibility to create policies to enable the Board of Industrial Training (BIT) to provide skills training for persons from all walks of life, such as, social background, gender, race or financial status.

Board Members

The Semi-autonomous agency falls under the Ministry of Labour and is governed by a Statutory Board, comprising of ten members who meet every month to attend to policy and other regulatory matters. The Statutory Board is tripartite, comprising of Private Sector and Government representatives.
In 1985, a full-time Secretariat was established for the more effective and efficient discharge of the responsibilities of BIT. The Chief Executive Office/ Secretary heads the Secretariat, with a team of trained TVET professionals, along with clerical and office support staff.

Mr. David Armogan


Mr. Richard Maughn


Mr. Rion Peters

Vice Chairman

Mr. Ganesh Singh


Mr. Michael Turner


Ms. Penelope Harris


Mr. Krishna Sharma


Mr. Desmond Morian


Ms. Uette Mitchell


Ms. Karen Roopchand


Mr. Rafael Boodhoo

Member- Representative of the Ministry of Human Services and Social Security.

Mr. Pierre Andrews

Member- Representative of the Ministry of Amerindian Affairs

Mr. Suresh Singh

Member- Representative of the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport

Mr. Bishram Kuppen

Permanent Secretary / Ex- Officio Member

Mr. Jainarine Sookpaul

Ex- Officio Member